Nightmares and fairy tales

Published September 23, 2013 by meredithwyatt1990

“Nnooo!” The woman cried, shooting up in bed, sweating in fear as another scream died in her throat. She looked around frantically, her eyes quickly adjusting. Trembling, she heard a soft whisper. “Love, it was just a nightmare.” Looking over her shoulder, she nodded to her tired boyfriend and cuddled close to him. “I’m sorry…you know how light a sleeper I am.” She shook her head to rid the fog from her mind and held him close, gently kissing his neck and rubbing his shoulders gently. They both worked long hours, his job more physically taxing then hers and she went to school part time. “Want to talk about it?” He asked softly. “No…it’s nothing. Really” She whispered, hating herself for lying to him. Honestly, she kept having nightmares of her ex boyfriend. She looked at him quietly and hung her head tiredly. “Let’s just sleep…with you, what could go wrong?” She asked snuggling into the blankets. He looked at her for a few moments and placed his hand on her heart, timing when it would slow. Nodding softly, he nuzzled next to his girlfriend and stroked her hand gently as she slept fitfully. She hugged him tightly, drying tears staining her cheeks. Her thoughts drifted to her boyfriend and she kissed him softly as a shudder passed through her body. “Oh well…” She whispered, turning on a soft light to read and watched over her boyfriend as he slept. “I’m so lucky to have you even if I don’t deserve you” she whispered in his ear as a small smile appeared on his face.

The next morning, she woke, having fallen asleep at some point out of sheer exhaustion. She looked and saw her boyfriend come in with a tray which had granola and yogurt mixed with banana and some apple juice. She smiled grateful as she ate looking up in wonderment. He sat next to her and smiled gently “I thought we could go for a walk along the river, what do you say?” She smiled swallowing and nodded. “That sounds perfect, and it’s such a nice day. But…aren’t you tired and you have work right?” He shook his head. “I’m tired but I took the day off so I could spend it with my favorite girl.” She smiled blushing at that.

Later, as they were walking, he stopped her short and told her to wait. Turning to face her, he got down on one knee. “I’ve loved you since the day we started talking. When I think of the future all I can see is you in my arms and I know you feel the same. When I sleep, you’re right there in my dreams, keeping me safe and I you. I want to be with you forever. Will you marry me?” He asked pulling out a ring with a topaz in the center as her birthday was in November. She nodded with tears in her eyes and kissed him deeply, speechless as she couldn’t explain how he made her feel so complete.

Thoughts, Ideas? Post away

