Woah oh oh oh I feel like…a man?

Published May 22, 2014 by meredithwyatt1990

I hate how when I need to vent, people want to offer me advice. If I need advice I’ll ask for it. I just feel so frustrated that when people offer advice it’s like I HAVE to follow it. Maybe I want to figure things out for myself and just have you listen. I need to be alone to write and sort out my problems. It takes a lot for me to ask for help. It’s when I’m crying and don’t know what to do. When I’ve thought and thought but haven’t been able to find a solution. This is why I crave solitude and feel drained after spending time with others. I’m an introvert and I just like time to myself. As contradictory as that sounds, I’m grateful when people just listen and talk to me but offering advice? I feel frustrated because I’m not at the point where I need it yet. That’s all

13 comments on “Woah oh oh oh I feel like…a man?

  • I have a reputation for being a great listener. But, depending on the excessiveness of the venting, I strongly desire to extinguish the flame. Guess it’s due to my lack of interest in small talk and empty speech. Despite being a great listener, I run the risk in my perpetual silence and head nods of being inconsiderate and emotionless. I suppose, the key is balance and taking people’s personalites into account.

    Thanks for sharing.
    β€” AJ

    Like

  • No, you’re not allowed to feel emotion and vent your shit out. You’re venting is my time to talk over you and tell you to shut up, stop whinging and get over it.

    Just kidding, that’s just the way I feel when I am in a similar situation. Why can’t we just let it out? What’s wrong with listening to someone and allowing their thoughts to flow? Why do we always get dismissed when our emotions are exposed? Why can’t we just be vulnerable and feel comfortable in someone’s presence? It just makes me want to withdraw more when people try to ‘help with their wonderful advice’ that is mostly just bullshit they’re making up to try to stop you from venting in the first place.

    Much love.

    Boris

    Like

  • I had a friend that actually got all butt hurt with me because I never apologized when I didn’t take her advice on something. It probably made things worse when I laughed at her for expecting an apology from me.

    Like

  • as a suggestion – and not advice! – when you begin to talk to somebody tell them upfront you don’t want advice and that you would prefer them to just listen. Maybe keep in mind that when people talk about problems the listener often feels they should offer advice, so the prompt might be helpful. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • The funny thing people usually tend to forget about advice is that you don’t have ANY obligation to actually take it, even if you asked for it in the first place. If you want someone else to help you out or just need to let the crazy out you should be able to do so without someone holding your future decisions against you.

    I’m an extrovert with introverted tendencies. I need to have my freedom and be alone, but I like being around people a lot. However I hate small talk and pointless conversation just for conversation’s sake. Everyone’s life is different.

    Perspective and knowledge after thinking and thinking about something is nice when offered but only if there aren’t strings attached in terms of having to take it.

    Like

  • That is actually so so true you know? Sometimes too much advice is JUST that …too much! So much to think through already and then you sit with all this advice an think…OK – so is that right or not!!??
    AND I often find aswell…that what is doable and ‘right’ for one persons situation does not always apply to our own situation. YES – I know I dish out LOADS of ‘advise’ and concepts…LOL! – Its that hypocrite bit I struggle with up there isn my tagline ya dig πŸ˜‰ …but you know what? It only ever can be taken into consideration if we can REALLY relate to the words.

    Seems so many folk do not realise that people are DIFFERENT! Like getting an extrovert saying to you: You should get out more and be with lots of people for lots of time…Um…introverts do NOT enjoy that much right! One on one seems more bareable…groups of folk CRUCIFY me! Why do you think I have stopped posting so much – ONE BIG group of people with a blog…. πŸ˜‰
    ❀

    Like

  • Thoughts, Ideas? Post away

