Experience, Growth, and a Lesson Learned


What experiences in life helped you grow the most?

When I was growing up, my father was very abusive to everyone in the family. My mother eventually left him which was very good for her. My brother who is 3 years older than I and much more assertive and has a license to drive, distanced himself, eventually leaving for college.

Which left me. Disabled, a people pleaser, and a goody two shoes, I was left going back and forth between my parents, just trying to hold on to what little peace there was.

Eventually, in my early 20’s, I legally disconnected myself from my father. Had I done that when I was younger, I’m sure things would’ve been much more calm and peaceful. I absolutely regret waiting as long as I did to distance myself and cut ties, and I hate myself for it every time I think about it.

Now I’m in my 30’s and I couldn’t be happier. I don’t have his suffocating energy and abuse over me any longer. I have an amazing relationship with my mother, brother, sister-in-law, and extended family (both online and off)

Published by KimberlyannKitsuragi

Just a girl trying to find her place in the world. I have a unique look at the world, so have fun perusing my blog

One thought on “Experience, Growth, and a Lesson Learned

  1. Glad you finally distanced yourself and are happy. I read a quote somewhere that said “if I cut you off from my life, you gave me the scissors”. Love and light to you! 💕☀️💕

    Like

Thoughts, Ideas? Post away